Select Page

What Are the Chakras Symbols?

Chakra symbols, despite their beauty, depict the cosmic geometry of the cosmos. And bringing us into harmony with the cosmological geometry is the practise of yoga. Contrary to popular belief, yoga is more than just a series of static postures meant to stretch and strengthen the body. It has nothing to do with sticking to some sort of health or exercise plan.

Instead, yoga is an internal engineering practise that helps us bring our inner world into harmony with the cosmos beyond. And through geometry of our own energy system, we can bring ourselves into harmony with the cosmos using yoga. The chakras symbols is a perfect geometrical sphere.

If we can learn to hold ourselves in a particular way, we can bring ourselves into harmony with the cosmic geometry of the chakras symbols. It is said that if your body is in this specific position, the energy of the universe will flood into you. Now that you know how chakras and their geometric mandalas work, we can delve into the meaning of each chakra symbol and how it can be used to achieve enlightenment.

1. Root Chakras Symbol Meaning

The muladhara chakra in chakras symbols, also known as the root chakra, corresponds to the element of earth. The physical form, or the body, is symbolised by the earth element. ‘Muladhara’ can be broken down into its component parts:’mula’, ‘roo,’ and ‘adhara,’ ‘base,’ or ‘foundation.

The lotus with four petals represents the origin of human consciousness, which can be thought of as the root chakra. Mind (Manas), Intelligence (Buddhi), Consciousness (Chitta), and Ego (Ahamkara). The square is the number four recurs as the square, representing enduring vitality, steadfastness, and rigidity.

A firm foundation upon which the surrounding chakras can rest. The Inverted Triangle: As the earth elemental symbol, the inverted triangle serves as a visual reminder of the muladhara chakra’s grounding energy.

2. Sacral Chakras Symbol Meaning

Water is linked to the sacral chakras symbol (chakra svadhisthana). The qualities of flow, movement, and vitality are all represented by the water element.

sva – self; and shthana – location; this is the meaning of the Sanskrit word svadhishthana.

The six petals of the sacral chakra lotus represent the six qualities—anger, jealousy, cruelty, hatred, pride, and desire—that need to be purified in order to open svadhisthana.

Birth, death, and rebirth all occur in a never-ending cycle, which is represented by circles. The Moon in a Crescent Phase: The Moon is a symbol of cyclical phenomena such as disorder, transformation, and motion.

3. Solar Plexus Symbol Meaning

The fire element and the sun are both symbolic of the solar plexus chakras symbols (manipura). Those qualities are all embodied by fire, which also stands for power and will.

Mani means “jewel,” and pura means “city” in Sanskrit, so the word manipura means “jewel city.”

Lotus with Ten Petals Each of us has ten different kinds of pranas, which are symbolized by the ten petals of the solar plexus chakras symbols. The ten pranas can be thought of as streams and vibrations of energy. There are a total of ten pranas available to us, five of which are upa pranas. An inverted triangle: The inverted triangle represents the focus and rotation of energy from the first three chakras up into the higher centers of the body.

4. Heart Chakras Symbol Meaning

Anahata, the heart chakra in chakras symbols, is linked to air. Those emotions and attitudes that are characterized by love, connection, and compassion are akin to the air element.

The Sanskrit term for “unstuck,” “beaten,” or “hurt” is anahata.

The lotus flower has twelve petals that represent the twelve divine qualities associated with the heart: tranquility, joy, love, peaceful coexistence, compassion, knowledge, purity, clarification, sympathy, unity, forgiveness, and kindness.

The Hexagram Consists of Two Triangles, One Pointed Upward and One Pointed Downward. The merging of the male and female energy sources is represented by the six-pointed star formed by the intersection of the two triangles.

5. Throat Chakras Symbol Meaning

Vishuddha, the throat chakra of chakras symbols, corresponds to ether. Elemental ether is associated with open dialogue, sincerity, and cleanliness.

The words “vishuddha” are derived from the Sanskrit words for “impurity” (visha) and “purification” (suddhi).

The throat chakra’s 16 petals represent the 16 vowels in the Sanskrit alphabet. Vowels are soft and simple to pronounce, representing the open nature of the conversation. Because of this, having a blocked throat chakra can hinder one’s ability to express themselves.

The Inverted Triangle: This geometric shape is a chakras symbol of the connection between our higher selves and our physical bodies, consciousness, and soul. The full moon triangle contains a circle at its base, representing the throat chakra. That’s supposed to represent a clean headspace.

6. Third Eye Chakras Symbol Meaning

The Ajna, or third eye, chakra is linked to the realm of light. As the pineal gland begins to function, it signifies the arrival of wisdom at the center of the body.

The word Ajna, which means “command” in Sanskrit, alludes to the superior knowledge and wisdom that direct our every move.

Lotus with Two Petals The third eye chakra’s two petals represent the separation of one’s ego from the divine.

A connection to the divine and genuine enlightenment are symbolized by an inverted triangle.

7. Crown Chakras Symbol Meaning

Chakra Sahasrara, also known as the crown chakras symbol, is linked to the infinite. These characteristics symbolize going beyond one’s ego and connecting with the boundless wellspring of creativity.

The word Sahasrara means “infinite” in Sanskrit.

Thousand-Petalled: A thousand petals of a lotus flower symbolize union with the divine. The oneness we share with all life and the chakras symbols. The blooming of a lotus flower represents good fortune and the everlasting nature of these bonds.

The full moon is symbolized by the circle. A metaphor for letting one’s guard down, for becoming fully aware of oneself


There is a merging of body and mind when all seven chakras symbols are activated. It is just as important to have faith in the healer as it is in the healing method itself. The fact that the ability to manipulate chakra is still in high demand, despite its antiquity, should pique your interest.

One can make great strides toward mastery of one’s physical and non-physical attributes by focusing on each of the seven chakras symbols in turn. Each chakra has the ability to take in and give off energy. This exchange of vitality occurs during meditative practice.