Select Page

Know The 5 Vrittis Of Mind: What Is The Chitta Vrittis?

Chitta vrittis is a phrase almost everyone is acquainted with — if not in theory, then in practice, at least in some form. In yoga, a technical word indicates that the contents of mental awareness are disruptions in the medium of consciousness and that this is the case. It may interpret as disturbances or waves on the generally peaceful waters of the mind, which is another way of saying waves.

5 Vrittis of Mind

The easy solution is to continue with your yoga practice. Simple. Maintain a consistent and persistent yoga practice, and everything will fall into place. However, we are animals of curiosity, and sometimes the simplest explanation is not enough.

1. Valid Cognition (Pramana)

The question is, what decides whether knowledge is true and correct? Indeed, if we have personally encountered something and can use that knowledge, we can say that anything is genuine, right? If we utilize our five senses, we may claim that we understand what water is.

We have touched and experienced it in the past and understand the practical uses of water because we use it to clean ourselves and hydrate our bodies in the present. The knowledge of water is genuine in this situation since it is water-based on our experiences, and it has a practical application to us in our daily lives.

2. Misconception (viparyaya)

Mind (vritti) has a dual role, which is that of misperception. The misconception is the formation of incorrect information about an item based on its misleading appearance. We may want to believe that we see things objectively as we move through life, but in reality, we only see the world we want to see. The Sanskrit term for ‘world’ is prapancha, which comes from Pancha, which means five senses, and pra, which means seeing through. In other words, the world is what we perceive through our perception of the five senses.

3. Imagination (vikalpa)

Compared to the previous two processes of valid cognition and misunderstanding, our imagination function acts on a more nuanced degree of sophistication. An image that we build in our brains is called imagination. We are capable of convincing ourselves of truth when, in reality, the truth is entirely false! Vikalpa may also be translated as uncertainty, indecision, and daydreaming.

4. Deep Sleep (Nidra)

Nidra may translate as “deep slumber” or “state of nothingness,” and it is a kind of meditation. During Nidra, the mind may focus inward and operates at a very delicate level, similar to meditation. It just takes one stormy night’s sleep, one night of sleeplessness, or one night with a newborn infant in the home to realize how critical deep, restful sleep is to our mental and physical well-being.

So, how do you feel the following day after a good night’s sleep? I woke up feeling refreshed and eager to take on the day. What if you have a terrible night’s sleep, a sleep disorder, or just not enough sleep? This might have a detrimental influence on your mood and your ability to focus throughout the day.

5. Memory (Smriti)

Memory is the mental retention of a conscious experience or remembering items encountered. All conscious events create a lasting imprint on the person and you may record in their mind as memories. One cannot know if a recollection is accurate, untrue, partial, or fictional since there is no way to tell. For example, consider a historical incident that is being retold — various individuals may remember different ‘facts,’ and you may find yourself disagreeing on some elements depending on your remembrance.